MOMENTS

Living in a large family I understood that certain things were luxuries. When I was quite young I asked Santa Claus for a pair of second hand skates, which I received. But it was not just brand new toys that were rarities, trips to beauty salons were unheard of. Oh my, that truly would have been a luxury.

Our father soon took ownership of the hair cutting razors, combs and scissors. The boys usually received variations on a crew cut. The girls either got a bob or a pixie cut.

Before school started I did not care how my hair looked. I wanted to play and learn how to keep up with my siblings.

As I began school I felt noticed, for myself, away from my family. More than once ,though, I was mistaken for a boy and I did not like that.

I tried to appeal to my mother and she shushed me, telling me not to worry. She advised me that it probably wouldn’t happen again. I was a well behaved little girl and did not like to complain about silly things so I kept quiet and looked for my baby sister so i could tell her about it and she could giggle for me to cheer me up..

Mom was wise and, when she had the luxury of time, she would pull me aside and put curlers in my hair. The first time we sat down I sat very still. Mom occasionally would leave to tend to a baby or break up a fight between my brothers. Then she would return to me to finish the hair. During those evenings I also felt like I could ask her any question, and I loved those talks.

Kristin is four years older so she was sometimes assigned the task of curling my hair. Kristin was becoming so much older and wiser than me and she had many friends to play with, so I treasured the conversations with her. I tried to stay still as she gave me much advice about how to be a proper young lady.

Duree is fifteen years older than I am, and left home before I had started school. I thought she was so sophisticated. One evening Duree came over and after dinner she spent much time putting pin curls in my hair. As she carefully placed the many bobby pins in my hair she told me stories of her married life. Mom would bring Duree coffee and after Mom left Duree would sneak a few puffs of her cigarette. I felt honoured to be a witness to her secret habit.

Beauty salons were a luxury for many people. But in our family, I loved the luxury of special visiting time with a sister or my mom. The gift of time was memorable.

February 9th 1964

We were living in Port Alberni. This evening was different. The house was quiet. Lloyd was away in the Navy. Duree had her own family. Bill and Joe were playing outside. I think Pat very possibly sneaked outside. Tony was in bed, listening to Kristin read. Katy was asleep and Naomi had not yet arrived. Dad was off on the boat. Mom and I were on our own.

Tonight Mom would give me a fancy home permanent. She placed the supplies on the table.

“Sit still or we will never be done.”

“I am trying, really I am. But I have to keep watching the clock. I have to make sure I call everyone when it’s time.”

I looked at the clock. I looked outside. A curler dropped.

The hands on the clock moved ever so slowly. I was so proud of know how to tell time, but, now worried .

“Mom, am I right, it says ten to eight right? “

“Yes, sit still”

I sat still. Mom did not say a word as she added the curlers. I was quiet. I was so excited.

Finally, “Mom, it is almost eight right?

Mom sighed and said’, “yes, go” .

“Joe Bill Kristin Pat Tony, come on. Get in here. It is almost time” I yelled as loud as my little voice would let me.

Suddenly the living room was filled with noisy children and one crying baby.

Joe stood up and sternly said to all of us: “Sh Sh Sh.” He appeared so serious, no one dared argue.

“Ladies and Gentlemen. It’s the Ed Sullivan Show.”

I sat still. Mom quietly added curlers to my hair.

I listened to Ed Sullivan talk. Oh he talked for a long time.

We waited and waited.

At last.

“Ladies and Gentlemen, The Beatles.”

They were singing just to me. They sang five songs. Wow. Our television set had never looked and sounded so magical to me. I wanted to scream along with the fans but I didn’t want to miss anything. I sat still.

At the end of the show my hair was all curled up and Mom was making herself some tea.

I breathed deeply. I knew I would forever remember this night.

link to youtube for 🙂

 

*

I Want To Hold Your Hand (Live) – The Beatles on Ed Sullivan Show

20 thoughts on “MOMENTS

  1. What a great story!!! You had the most beautiful hair. No wonder your big sisters were okay with curling it.
    I love how you took on the responsibility to get everyone in the room.

    Joe’s serious look was hilarious. That was a fun read.

    Like

  2. You really were a pretty little girl and your hair was fun to play with. I love this story, beginning with the title: Moments. Little pockets of time and Momentous Occasions. The Beatles! A moment for all who saw them that night. Not many got a new hairdo at the same time.
    It was nice of you to say I was wise and offered advice. I think bossy know-it-all might have applied at times.
    Duree was awesome at including a younger sister in a feminine activity, wasn’t she? She was a pincurl expert!

    Like

  3. That was wonderful Regina.

    I was actually at the Ed Sullivan Show that night in New York City.

    I really don’t remember that night (too young) but so many Beatlemania memories over the next six years. I would be interested in hearing more memories of the Fab 4.

    Like

    • too funny Patrick. and thank you for the compliment. how true that we will be hearing many stories of Beatlemania. I have a vivid memory of a boy circling me on his bike and singing I wanna hold your hand, over and over. this was on north morgan crescent but I have no idea who the boy was

      Like

  4. This is really, really good, Bean. I love everything from the second hand skates to the curlers and the smoking and the building tension and then holding in your screams. Just a great story.

    Like

  5. What a beautiful beautiful story.
    What a blessing to have a family that had common passion and the need to share, everything, including the TV set.
    From your positon in the near middle of the family you witnessed so many routine comings and goings. Thank you for making that time come alive again.
    And thanks for being the TV lookout. I owe you one.

    Like

    • thank you for your lovely comments Joe. yes, we felt the need to not miss out on anything .. and it definitely would have been a different story if I had not called everyone in time.
      thanks 🙂

      Like

    • They appeared three straight weeks on the Ed Sullivan show. did we watch each week?

      I imagine at age four I watched, but I was probably thinking “This is ok, but I hope they put that puppet mouse back on soon.”

      “Goodnight Eddie….”

      Like

      • I think we must have watched it each week. so much of the Beatlemania is memorable for me. however, i am not sure if everyone , including the youngest, would be allowed to stay up that late. but, maybe that was a good way to get a little child to behave

        Like

  6. Pingback: 1 Year | ogmundsonstories

  7. Pingback: Port Alberni 1964 – Everyon deserves a year like this | ogmundsonstories

Leave a comment